^ Choose a city or town above to find local alternative fuel stations.
^ Electric, biodiesel, hydrogen, liquified natural gas, ethanol, propane & more.
^ Select a city/town in the list above to see a full list of alternative fuel stations.
Tax incentives and/or other rebates, credits, incentives or related initiaves for drivers of alternative fuel vehicles or for other uses of alternative fuel in New Hampshire.
A NEV is any four-wheel electric vehicle capable of achieving a top speed between 20 and 25 miles per hour (mph), and complies with the federal equipment and safety standards in Title 49 of the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations, section 571.500. NEVs may only operate on roads that have a posted speed limit of 35 mph or less, but are not restricted from crossing roadways with speeds limits greater than 35 mph. (Reference New Hampshire Revised Statutes 259:66-b, 265:158, and 266:114)
NHEC offers rebates of $1,000 for the purchase or lease of a new or used electric vehicle (EV), and $600 for the purchase or lease of a new or used plug-in hybrid electric vehicle. The PEV must be purchased or leased between January 1, 2018, and December 31, 2018. For more information, including how to apply, see the NHEC Drive Electric website.
NHEC offers a residential off-peak rate program for electricity purchased to charge PEVs. The electricity used for vehicle charging is metered separately from all other electricity use. For more information, see the NHEC Drive Electric website.
The New Hampshire Department of Transportation (DOT) must coordinate with the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) to ensure that EVSE signage on federal highways in the state is uniform. In addition, DOT must develop signage for EVSE and hydrogen fueling stations that is consistent with FHWA's Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices for use on state roads. (Reference Senate Bill 575, 2018, and New Hampshire Revised Statutes 236:131)
An individual may not park a motor vehicle in a parking space equipped with a public electric vehicle charging station unless the vehicle is a PEV. (Reference Senate Bill 575, 2018, and New Hampshire Revise Statutes 236:131)