^ Choose a city or town above to find local alternative fuel stations.
^ Electric, biodiesel, hydrogen, liquified natural gas, ethanol, propane & more.
^ Select a city/town in the list above to see a full list of alternative fuel stations.
Tax incentives and/or other rebates, credits, incentives or related initiaves for drivers of alternative fuel vehicles or for other uses of alternative fuel in Oregon.
Dedicated original equipment manufacturer natural gas vehicles and all-electric vehicles are not required to be equipped with a certified pollution control system. (Reference Oregon Revised Statutes 815.300)
PEVs and HEVs are generally treated the same as conventional vehicles with regard to registration. PEVs and HEVs are registered biennially, with the exception of new vehicles for which new registration plates are issued. Certain PEVs and HEVs, including commercial buses, follow an annual registration period. The registration fee is $43 per vehicle for each year of the registration period. There is an additional fee for PEVs or HEVs in certain weight categories. (Reference Oregon Revised Statutes 803.415 and 803.420)
A low-speed vehicle is defined as a four-wheeled motor vehicle capable of reaching speeds of more than 20 miles per hour (mph) but not more than 25 mph. A low-speed vehicle may not operate on a highway that has a posted speed limit of more than 35 mph. A medium-speed EV is defined as a four-wheeled electric motor vehicle that is equipped with a roll cage or a crushproof body design and is capable of reaching speeds of up to 35 mph. A medium-speed EV may not operate on a highway that has a posted speed limit of more than 45 mph. A city or county may adopt ordinances that allow the operation of low-speed vehicles or medium-speed EVs on city streets or county roads that have posted speed limits greater than 35 mph and 45 mph, respectively. Low-speed vehicles and medium-speed EVs must comply with certain standards contained in Title 49 of the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations, section 571.500. (Reference Oregon Administrative Rules 737-010-0010, and Oregon Revised Statutes 801.331, 801.341, and 811.512 through 811.513)
Business owners and others may be eligible for a tax credit of 35% of eligible costs for qualified alternative fuel infrastructure projects, or the incremental or conversion cost of two or more AFVs. Qualified infrastructure includes facilities for mixing, storing, compressing, or dispensing fuels for vehicles operating on alternative fuels. Qualified alternative fuels include electricity, natural gas, gasoline blended with at least 85% ethanol (E85), propane, and other fuels that the Oregon Department of Energy (ODOE) approves. Unused credits may be carried forward up to five years. Non-profit organizations and public entities that do not have an Oregon tax liability may receive the credit for an eligible project but must "pass-through" or transfer their project eligibility to a pass-through partner in exchange for a lump-sum cash payment. ODOE determines the rate that is used to calculate the cash payment. The pass-through option is also available to a project owner with an Oregon tax liability who chooses to transfer their tax credit. The credit is available through the applicant's 2017 tax year. For more information, see the ODOE Transportation Tax Credits website. (Reference Oregon Revised Statutes 315.336, 469B.320, and 469B.323)
Biodiesel blends containing at least 20% biodiesel derived from used cooking oil are exempt from the $0.30 per gallon state fuel excise tax. The exemption does not apply to fuel used in vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more, fuel not sold in retail operations, or fuel sold in operations involving fleet fueling or bulk sales. The exemption expires after December 31, 2019. (Reference Oregon Revised Statutes 319.530)
The Oregon Department of Energy (ODOE) AFV Revolving Fund provides loans to public agencies, private entities, and tribes for the incremental cost of AFVs and AFV conversions. Priority will be given to converting petroleum-powered vehicles to AFVs. The loan recipient may be responsible for a fee of 0.1% of the loan, up to $2,500, as well as fees to cover the cost of application processing. ODOE may set the interest rate anywhere from 0% to the current market rate, with a loan term up to six years. Eligible vehicles include those powered by electricity, biofuel, gasoline and alcohol blends with at least 20% alcohol content, hydrogen, natural gas, propane, or any other fuel ODOE approves that produces lower exhaust emissions or is more energy efficient than gasoline or diesel. For more information, including application forms and interest rate and fee information, see the ODOE website. (Reference Oregon Revised Statutes 469.960 through 469.966)
The owner of a lot in a planned community or unit in a condominium may submit an application to install EVSE for their personal use in a parking space subject to the exclusive use of the owner. The homeowners association must approve a complete application within 60 days. The owner is responsible for all costs associated with the EVSE installation and use, must disclose the existence of the EVSE and related responsibilities to a prospective buyer, and must ensure that the infrastructure meets insurance and safety requirements. EVSE installed under these regulations on or before June 4, 2015, is considered to be the personal property of the lot or unit owner with which the EVSE is associated, unless the owner and homeowners association have negotiated a different outcome. Additional requirements and restrictions apply. (Reference Oregon Revised Statutes 94.550, 94.762, 100.005, and 100.627)
Compressed natural gas motor fuel is subject to the state fuel excise tax at the rate of $0.30 per 120 cubic feet, measured at 14.73 pounds per square inch and 60 degrees Fahrenheit. Propane motor fuel is subject to the excise tax $0.30 per 1.3 gallons at 60 degrees Fahrenheit. (Reference Oregon Revised Statutes 319.530)
Drivers using natural gas or propane to fuel a vehicle may pay an annual special use fuel license fee in lieu of the state fuel excise tax of $0.30 per gallon. The fee is determined by multiplying a base amount in the table below by the current tax rate and dividing by 12.
|Combined Vehicle Weight (pounds)||Base Amount|
|0 - 10,000||$60|
|10,001 - 26,000||$300|
|26,001 and above||$400|
(Reference Oregon Revised Statutes 319.535)
An individual is not allowed to park a motor vehicle within any parking space specifically designated for public parking and fueling of AFVs unless the motor vehicle is an AFV fueled by electricity, natural gas, methanol, propane, gasoline blended with at least 85% ethanol (E85), or other fuel the Oregon Department of Energy approves. Eligible AFVs must also be in the process of fueling or charging to park in the space. A person found responsible for a violation is subject to traffic violation penalties. (Reference Oregon Law 208, 2015, and Oregon Revised Statutes 469B.100)